Senoia United Methodist Church, the first church built in Senoia, was founded as the Methodist Episcopal Church South in 1861 by Rev. Francis Warren Baggarly. The church's first site was in the upstairs of the Rock House - the first building erected in what is now Senoia. Pine benches, hewn from rough lumber, were the first seats The first pulpit, still found inside the church, was built for Rev. Baggarly by Mr. John Mays.
In 1871 a church building was erected on the present site. It was moved in 1898 for the construction of the building that is now our sanctuary.
The church was built in the shingle style Queen Anne architecture. In fact, it has been said that the church building is the best example of Queen Anne architecture in the state of Georgia. A balcony was added to the sanctuary in 1920. An annex was built around 1948 and replaced in 1979 by a larger facility. Beautiful stained glass windows help to heighten the beauty of the overall structure.
Our church has a rich history, and our goal is to continue to be a strong witness to Jesus Christ and a vital part of the community.
Six members of the church family have entered the ministry: Charles D. Atkinson, Emory Daniel, James Couch, Walter Carmichael, Harry Mitcham, and James Welden.
The Rev. Julie Schendel became our pastor in July 2022. Our church has seen healthy growth with the addition of new ministries, new faces, new worship opportunities, and renewed commitments to our community. More is to come and we invite you to be part of it!